Home Education IIT admissions 2015: Seat allocation for preparatory courses begins

IIT admissions 2015: Seat allocation for preparatory courses begins

by anik

IIT Admissions 2015The seat allocation process for preparatory courses at Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) has begun today i.e. July 22. The candidates will be allotted seats today. The candidates will be allowed to accept the seats and go to their respective reporting centres, starting at 10 am on July 23 up till 5 pm on July 26.

The third round of seat allotment for admissions to IITs, NITs and various other technology institutes was concluded on July 21. The admission process is being conducted by the Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) for JEE Main Paper I and Paper II and JEE Advanced 2015.

The candidates who were allotted a seat in any round of seat allocation and had reported at their designated centre too, but wish to change their sliding option to floating or freeze or vice-versa can report to the same centre, with a new undertaking stating their choice. They are required to carry a confirmation of document verification, round two allotment letter and their JEE Main 2015 admit card.

The students who get a seat are required to report to their respective centres for admission to IITs and NITs. If the candidates fail to do so, then they will be excluded from the admission process and won’t be eligible to participate in the subsequent allotment rounds either.

If the students choose to ‘freeze’ the seat, then they won’t be allowed to make any changes in the seat allocation rounds further, however, if they wish to keep their options open for an upgrade, they need to select the ‘floating’ option. If the students want a course upgrade at the same institute where they were allotted the seat, they will have to choose the sliding option.

There are a total of 87 participating institutes, 17 are Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), 31 are National Institutes of Technology (NITs), 18 are Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs), 18 are Government Funded Technical Institutions (GFTIs) and Indian School of Mines (ISM).







You may also like